Leaders take on new roles in the school system | Local News

Special for the News Herald

Burke County Public Schools welcomed several principals, principals and vice-principals into new roles for the upcoming school year.

“A new school year brings many exciting changes for students who are encouraged to move to new grade levels and meet new teachers,” Superintendent Mike Swan said. “It also brings exciting changes for school district staff who are promoted, lateral-moved, or retired. As we look forward to a successful 2022-23 academic year, we congratulate our administrators who will take on new roles and look forward to great accomplishments from their leadership.

The following list highlights a few changes that the Burke County School Board approved that went into effect Friday, July 1.

The schools that will have new principals or vice principals are:

  • Sarah Call, Deputy Principal of Drexel Elementary
  • Lori Westerfield, Principal of Glen Alpine Elementary
  • Caroline Howard, Principal of Hildebran Elementary School
  • Mountain View Elementary Assistant Principal Bryan Wolfe
  • Jim Cole, Principal of Oak Hill Elementary School
  • Tosha Haskins, Principal of WA Young Elementary School
  • East Burke Middle Principal DJ Carswell, Assistant Principals Rodney Pyatte and Deanna Minetola
  • Chris Winkler, Deputy Principal of Liberty Middle
  • Jeannie Jandrew, Intermediate Manager of Table Rock, Assistant Manager Candace Butler
  • Walter Johnson Senior Principal Assistant Bryn McSwain
  • Shanda Epley, Principal of Freedom High, Heather Hollifield, Deputy Principal
  • Director of the Hallyburton Rich Linens Academy

People also read…

The new roles at the central office are:

  • Director of Human Resources Keith Recker
  • Director of Secondary Education Debbie Jennings
  • Casey Rogers, CTE Director and County Athletic Director
  • Deputy EC Director Desarae Kirkpatrick

Recent and upcoming retirements include Hildebran director Randy Sain, Hallyburton director Jonathon Clontz, human resources director Kim Rudisill and EC director Shane Mace.

Previous Republican nominee for superintendent of Weld schools emerges – Greeley Tribune
Next Cryptocurrency hedge fund Three Arrows Capital files for Chapter 15 bankruptcy