Huron Plainsman | School district recognizes staff and administrators at annual banquet

HURON – The Huron School District held its 33rd Annual Employee Recognition Banquet at the Huron Event Center on May 12.

Many employees have been recognized for their meritorious service, special awards and “Employee of the Year”. The evening ended with a tribute to neighborhood retirees.

The following teachers have been recognized for their years of service in the district.

Five Years: Peggy Harkness, Myranda Holtrop, David Jensen, Kelby Johnson, Trisha Jons, Cassidee King, Jolene Konechne, Halima Kringen, Mia Kruse, Raleigh Larson, Joyce Maras, Steven Martens, Mary Moe, Michelle Moeding, Hezekiah Moo, Henry Morales , Nicholle Mudge, Beth Neitzert, Ashley Neuharth, Breanne Olsen, Maria Ptak, Vicki Ranney, Rhonda Ransom, Terry Regnier, Wesley Rennich, Zachary Retzer, Jessica Skorheim, Tracey Steele, Dru Strand, Wah Ka Paw Thein, Licia Wallace, Charlie Warner , Kristin Wheeler and Tori White.

10 years old: Tamera Barnes, Dave Corcoran, McKenzie Gill, Duane Hanson, Abby Johnson, Kristine Kattner, Michael Radke, Dale Schoemaker, Rebecca Stoddard, Dianne Tapken, Angela Thomas, Abby Vaillancourt, Amy Velthoff and Carolyn Westby.

15 years old: Ginger Brake, Brooke Cunard, Sharon Engelhart, Karen Ford, Timothy Hedblom, Michelle Hotchkiss, Erv Huber, Adele Van Zee, Laura Willemssen and Cynthia Willams.

20 years old: April Ahlers, Dawn Marshall and Charlene Polsean.

25 years old: Linda Eck, Kari Hinker and Michael Postma.

30 years old: Staci DesLauriers, Peggy Podhradsky, Julie King and Terry Rotert.

35 years old: Debbie Henning, Lona Moser, Barbara Myhre and Jodi Walter.

40 years old: Barbara Nicholas

Special recognition was given to staff members who received special awards throughout the year.
• Rita Baszler: nationally certified school nurse
• Shelly Buddenhagen: Volleyball Coaches Association Region 6 Coach of the Year and SD High School Coaches Association Coach of the Year.
• Terry Nebelsick: South Dakota’s 2020 Superintendent of the Year, named to the State Board of Educational Standards and Distinguished Civic Service Award from the House and Huron Visitors.
• Barb Nicholas: SD Region 3 Teacher of the Year and finalist for SD Teacher of the Year.
• Amy Schoenfelder: Post 7 American Legion Teacher of the Year.
• TyAnn Ulmer: Assistant “AA” Volleyball Coach of the Year.
• Huron School District # 2-2: Mayor’s Award of Excellence

The Classified Employees of the Year for 2021 were Hezekiah Moo and Gina Gabriel.

Hezekiah is para ESL at Huron High School, while Gina takes care of building and grounds maintenance.

The 2021 Professional Support Staff Employee of the Year was also honored, Rita Baszler.

Rita is the school nurse at the Madison 2/3 Center and accepted the award on behalf of all the nurses in the school and all of the hard work they have done over the past year and every year for keep everyone safe.

Three teachers have been named Teacher of the Year 2021: Lynne Hanten, Leah Branaugh and Jennifer Fuchs. Lynne is a grade 3 teacher at Madison 2/3 Center, Leah is a math teacher at Huron Middle School, and Jennifer is a science teacher at Huron High School.

Special recognition was given to David Wheeler for his years of service with the Huron School Board and then the evening ended with recognition of the retirees of the district.

Retirees include: Ann Blondheim, 4, Washington 4-5 Center; Teacher David Jensen, 5 years old, para-educator of the Huron colony; Rita Schulz, 6, administrative assistant in the Program Office; Cindy Eckmann, 7, administrative assistant for transport; Colleen Jensen, 9 years old, teacher from the Huron colony; Lois Dorris, 9½, School Nutrition, Buchanan K-1 Center; Jean A. Wolff, 20, college nutrition; Linda Eck, 25, homeschool liaison; Sharla Mees, 27, teacher at Madison 2-3 Center; Julie Zell, 27, teacher at the Washington 2-3 center; Kathy Engst, 28, secondary school teacher; Lisa Sargent, 28, transport bus driver; Jeanne Olson, 32, our home teacher; Jodi Walter, 35, SLPA.

The last recognized retiree was Superintendent Terry Nebelsick. Terry will be leaving the Huron School District after 27 years.

He started as a high school principal and then served as our superintendent.

To honor Terry, a representative from the SD Department of Education was on hand to read a proclamation from Governor Kristi Noem that June 30, 2021 in South Dakota will be “Terry Nebelsick Day”.

Source link

Previous City Councilor Expresses Concerns About Lincoln High School - NBC 7 San Diego
Next LSSU cannabis center has more financial aid for students